Jason Stanford: Why Is Duncan Asking Pearson for Advice?

Diane Ravitch's blog

Jason Stanford, a Texas journalist, is appalled that President Obama and Arne Duncan met with Pearson to get advice about how to prepare low-income students for college. The White House refers to Pearson as “the world’s leading learning company,” instead of the world’s largest testing company.

What advice do you think Pearson offered? Stanford bets: more testing, better testing.

He notes that Texas has a contract with Pearson for nearly $500 million. Thanks to high-stakes testing, 76,000 students will not graduate. Testing did not make them smarter. Instead they have been effectively consigned to lifetime struggle and poverty.

The mind meld between Duncan and Pearson is alarming.

Even more alarming is Duncan’s contempt for America’s students, parents, and teachers.

View original post

Advertisements

About jmasseysr

Writer, Independent Contractor Jeffery Massey, Sr. is a 55 year-old author who also writes under the pseudonym of “Poor Richard’s Son.” He is a native of Chicago, Illinois and a Viet Nam Era U.S. Air Force veteran. Massey, a graduate of Dayton, Ohio’s Wright State University with a 2000 bachelor of arts degree in English-professional writing, is the author of the cross-genre, Sci-Fi speculative fiction novella “COLD BABY: As If Through A Glass and Darkly” written in the tradition of Raymond Chandler & Dashiell. Hammett’s Noir-driven, Hard-Boiled “Black Mask” writers. He is also a playwright who has authored the contemporary work “The Return of the Prodigal Child.” Mr. Massey has written more than 20 short stories and as a former journalism intern-reporter penned and had published several front-page stories and interview articles for the Columbus, Ohio Call and Post newspaper. Interviewees included former U.S. Surgeon General Jocelyn Elders and Capital University Professor of Law and author Floyd D. Weatherspoon. Mr. Massey has also been published on “Dark Planet” webzine as the author of PBS’s “Einstein Revealed” media review. Mr. Massey’s writing interests have focused upon media and literary criticism, multiple genre’s such as sci-fi/fantasy, speculative fiction, hard-boiled detective fiction, contemporary fiction, American humor, historically-based non-fiction and contemporary playwriting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s