Reflections on the Ukraine

Wow!

From the mind of Chris Terry

Own Photo The Maidan in Peace. Own Photo

Like many of you, I am now watching the videos and images coming out of Ukraine, following it on my twitter account and watching it on youtube links.

The images of fire and smoke, Ukrainian flags flying, protesters chanting and tents of the Euromaidan are all the more potent for me because I have seen Independence Square in peace.

In 2012 I went to Ukraine to observe the parliamentary election. The election had been quiet and boring, with a sense of resignation of an inevitable victory by President Yanukovych’s Party of Regions.

I went to Independence Square.  I saw a quiet and beautiful square, with people wandering to and from shops. Underground there are further shops, and I got lost nearby looking for some friends who’d gone to a nearby restaurant.

I went further afield, being posted to Dnepropetrovsk, Ukraine’s third largest city, an…

View original post 589 more words

Advertisements

About jmasseysr

Writer, Independent Contractor Jeffery Massey, Sr. is a 55 year-old author who also writes under the pseudonym of “Poor Richard’s Son.” He is a native of Chicago, Illinois and a Viet Nam Era U.S. Air Force veteran. Massey, a graduate of Dayton, Ohio’s Wright State University with a 2000 bachelor of arts degree in English-professional writing, is the author of the cross-genre, Sci-Fi speculative fiction novella “COLD BABY: As If Through A Glass and Darkly” written in the tradition of Raymond Chandler & Dashiell. Hammett’s Noir-driven, Hard-Boiled “Black Mask” writers. He is also a playwright who has authored the contemporary work “The Return of the Prodigal Child.” Mr. Massey has written more than 20 short stories and as a former journalism intern-reporter penned and had published several front-page stories and interview articles for the Columbus, Ohio Call and Post newspaper. Interviewees included former U.S. Surgeon General Jocelyn Elders and Capital University Professor of Law and author Floyd D. Weatherspoon. Mr. Massey has also been published on “Dark Planet” webzine as the author of PBS’s “Einstein Revealed” media review. Mr. Massey’s writing interests have focused upon media and literary criticism, multiple genre’s such as sci-fi/fantasy, speculative fiction, hard-boiled detective fiction, contemporary fiction, American humor, historically-based non-fiction and contemporary playwriting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s