What is normal? On the changing of American social discourse.

???

Emily L. Hauser - In My Head

I was reminded of this post today and decided to re-up it. Because why not?

sourcesource

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the broad American social struggle of the past 60-odd years, about what ties the whole messy package together. I’ve been thinking about how for the vast majority of human history, men have ruled the roost, but only men of a certain socio-economic standing — something that has varied from culture to culture (much as the ethnicity, religion, and geographical seat of these men has varied), but has always translated to “power.”

I’ve been thinking a lot about how, in this country, in this time, when white, Christian men of a certain socio-economic standing (and heteronormative identity) complain that something is being ripped from their hands, that order hangs in the balance, they’re right.

They’re right, because ever since the dawn of the Civil Rights movement (or, in…

View original post 599 more words

Advertisements

About jmasseysr

Writer, Independent Contractor Jeffery Massey, Sr. is a 55 year-old author who also writes under the pseudonym of “Poor Richard’s Son.” He is a native of Chicago, Illinois and a Viet Nam Era U.S. Air Force veteran. Massey, a graduate of Dayton, Ohio’s Wright State University with a 2000 bachelor of arts degree in English-professional writing, is the author of the cross-genre, Sci-Fi speculative fiction novella “COLD BABY: As If Through A Glass and Darkly” written in the tradition of Raymond Chandler & Dashiell. Hammett’s Noir-driven, Hard-Boiled “Black Mask” writers. He is also a playwright who has authored the contemporary work “The Return of the Prodigal Child.” Mr. Massey has written more than 20 short stories and as a former journalism intern-reporter penned and had published several front-page stories and interview articles for the Columbus, Ohio Call and Post newspaper. Interviewees included former U.S. Surgeon General Jocelyn Elders and Capital University Professor of Law and author Floyd D. Weatherspoon. Mr. Massey has also been published on “Dark Planet” webzine as the author of PBS’s “Einstein Revealed” media review. Mr. Massey’s writing interests have focused upon media and literary criticism, multiple genre’s such as sci-fi/fantasy, speculative fiction, hard-boiled detective fiction, contemporary fiction, American humor, historically-based non-fiction and contemporary playwriting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s