Author Archives: jmasseysr

About jmasseysr

Writer, Independent Contractor Jeffery Massey, Sr. is a 55 year-old author who also writes under the pseudonym of “Poor Richard’s Son.” He is a native of Chicago, Illinois and a Viet Nam Era U.S. Air Force veteran. Massey, a graduate of Dayton, Ohio’s Wright State University with a 2000 bachelor of arts degree in English-professional writing, is the author of the cross-genre, Sci-Fi speculative fiction novella “COLD BABY: As If Through A Glass and Darkly” written in the tradition of Raymond Chandler & Dashiell. Hammett’s Noir-driven, Hard-Boiled “Black Mask” writers. He is also a playwright who has authored the contemporary work “The Return of the Prodigal Child.” Mr. Massey has written more than 20 short stories and as a former journalism intern-reporter penned and had published several front-page stories and interview articles for the Columbus, Ohio Call and Post newspaper. Interviewees included former U.S. Surgeon General Jocelyn Elders and Capital University Professor of Law and author Floyd D. Weatherspoon. Mr. Massey has also been published on “Dark Planet” webzine as the author of PBS’s “Einstein Revealed” media review. Mr. Massey’s writing interests have focused upon media and literary criticism, multiple genre’s such as sci-fi/fantasy, speculative fiction, hard-boiled detective fiction, contemporary fiction, American humor, historically-based non-fiction and contemporary playwriting.

Tony Rosato, ‘Saturday Night Live’ Alum, Dies at 62 — Variety

Actor Tony Rosato, an alum of the sketch comedy series “Saturday Night Live” and “SCTV,” died on Tuesday night at his home in Toronto. He was 62. The comedian died of a suspected heart attack, though an autopsy has not … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

TOGETHER WE STAND, DIVIDED WE FALL on StartSomeGood, a crowdfunding platform for non-profits, social entrepreneurs and changemakers

TOGETHER WE STAND, DIVIDED WE FALL on StartSomeGood, a crowdfunding platform for non-profits, social entrepreneurs and changemakers.

Posted in EDUCATION POLICY, Fundraising, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Charter School Corruption in North Carolina

Originally posted on Diane Ravitch's blog:
To think about charter schools in America today, you have to separate the rhetoric from the reality. It helps to have a guide, someone who sees the man behind the curtain. Blowing smoke…

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Why the California Teachers Association Launched the Call for Duncan’s Resignation

Originally posted on Diane Ravitch's blog:
The California Teachers Association introduced the resolution calling for Arne Duncan to resign. Similar proposals had been defeated in 2011 and 2012. This one passed. Here it is. Duncan is without question the…

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Writing Tips: Character Profiles

Originally posted on Shannon A Thompson:
Lots of announcements today before I share my thoughts on creating character profiles: ShannonAThompson.com hit 17,000 followers! This is truly amazing, and I cannot believe that we’re continuing to grow. I started this little blog…

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Ohio: Another Charter School Closing

Ohio: Another Charter School Closing.

Posted in EDUCATION POLICY, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Ohio: Another Charter School Closing

Originally posted on Diane Ravitch's blog:
From Bill Phillis of the Ohio Adequacy and Equity Coalition: Another charter school will close down: corruption, ethics, nepotism and poor performance, at issue. The superintendent of the VLT Academy, a charter school…

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment